Quarashi was a rap group from Reykjavík. Quarishi means ‘Supernatural’ in Arabic. It was member Steini’s nickname as skater. The group consisted of rappers Hössi Ólafsson (later replaced by Egill Olafur Thorarensen), Ómar Örn Hauksson, Steinar Orri Fjeldsted, and Sölvi Blöndal (who also acted as producer, keyboardist, percussionist, drummer and songwriter). For live shows, Quarashi was joined by guitarist Smári “Tarfur” Jósepsson (later replaced by Vidar Hákon Gislason), bassist Gaukur Úlfarsson, and DJ Dice (later replaced by DJ Magic).

The group released five studio albums from 1996 to 2005. “Quarashi” was their first full album. On 29. November 1996 Quarishi released their first record, an EP entitled “Switchstand” under Sölvi’s record label, Lax Records. Only 500 copies were made of this 5-track disc. One year later self-titled album was released. It was dubbed “The Egg Album” by fans, because of the egg on the cover. The album immediately topped the Icelandic album charts thanks to its collection of catchy rap songs such as “Thunderball”, “Catch 22″, “Mr. Amber Shades”, “Superwoman”, and “Framogtilbaka”.

Quarashi toured all over Iceland to support the album, including performances as the opening act for both The Fugees and The Prodigy.


  1. “Ouzo” (Translates to “Intro”) [Instrumental]
  2. “Thunderball”
  3. “Framogtilbaka”
  4. “Catch 22″
  5. “Switchstance”
  6. “Superwoman” (featuring Omar Swarez)
  7. “Herra Jinx” [Instrumental]
  8. “Lone Rangers” (featuring Magga Stina)
  9. “The Next Movie
  10. “Beam Me Down” [Instrumental]
  11. “Mr. Amber Shades”
  12. “S.E.T.I.” [Instrumental]
  13. “Beam Me Up
  14. “Speedo” [Instrumental]
  15. “Delphi”
  16. “Mr. Caulfield”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0b1NqSlTFc0