Mjötviður mær by Þeyr

“Mjötviður mær” was released on 14. December 1981 on the Eskvímó label (ESQ 2). One year earlier, December 1980, the band released their debut album “Þagað í hel” on the SG Label. The band was strongly influenced by Joy Division, their music is often described as “post-punk”, or even “depro-punk”. Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson a.k.a. HÖH (Psychic TV member for a while) acted as the band’s inspirator/guru. With the help of Jaz Coleman of Killing Joke, a regular visitor of Iceland in the early eighties, the band was able to play some gigs in London in the autumn of 1981. The legendary John Peel played several Þeyr songs in his program on BBC Radio. They almost became the supporting act for a tour of 6 months with Robert Smith and his band The Cure.
This Album was recorded in 140 hours at Hljóðriti Studio at Hafnarfjörður with the help of Tony Cook.
About 2,000 copies were sold.
The album cover features a naked man, which is a reference to the Leonardo Da Vinci drawing ‘Vitruvian Man’, in a pentagram, representing the 5 members of the band. On the back the naked man is running on the Suðurgata road at Skerjafjörður towards Bessastaðir (The Residence of Iceland’s President). In the back of the photograph is the cone-shaped mountain Keilir, a 379 meter high hyaloclastite crater.

Band members on this album were singer Magnús Guðmundsson, Þorsteinn Magnússon on guitar (of Eik fame), Guðlaugur Kr. Óttarsson on guitar, Hilmar Örn Agnarsson on bas, and Sigtryggur Baldursson on drums.
Songs on the Album:
Side 1
1. Úlfur
2. Iss
3. Current
4. 2999
5. Mjötviður
6. Ópið
Side 2
1. Þeir
2. Rúdolf
3. Never Suck (on Fun-Days)
4. Það er nóg
5. Hva-than
6. Ónefnt
“Iss”, “Þeir” & “2999” are poppy songs with keyboards and voice-distortion. “Rúdolf” is an angry, quite traditional, anti-fascistic rock-song.
Here is the “Rúdolf” footage from the notorious ‘Rokk í Reykjavík’ documentary about the punk and postpunk scene in the period 1981-82.

HÖH is co-writer of the songs “Iss”, “Current”, “Þeir”, “Það er nóg” and “Ónefnt”.
With the help of the British radio legend John Peel, the band signed a deal with Shout Records. In 1982 this label released the album “As Above”, with some songs of “Mjötviður mær” (LX001). LP has the same cover as “Mjötviður mær”.
Track list:
Side A: Homo gestalt – Killer boogie – Dead/Undead – Wolf – Technologos – Poeme
Side B: Current – Rudolf – Are you still there – Though – Shout