“Jet Black Joe” (1992) by Jet Black Joe

Jet Black Joe was an Icelandic grunge pop-rock band. The band was formed in 1992 and quickly became very popular. They had some success overseas and released albums and singles in Europe and Asia. This album was the début of Jet Black Joe.
In 1991 the 22 year old guitarist Gunnar Bjarni Ragnarsson of the bands Bootlegs and Boneyard met the singer of the band “Nirvana” from Hafnarfjörður Páll Rósinkranz (17 years) during the early August Merchants’ weekend (Verslunarmannahelgina). The duo found a bass player in the band Nabblastrengja (Umbilical Cord) Starri Sigurðarson (17 years), followed by the drummer from the town Garðabaer Jón Örn Arnarson (17 years) and finally Hrafn Thoroddsen (18 years) joined the band.
Album was recorded at Studio Gnyr.
Record was released on 22. October 1992 by Steinar.
Album sold 7,000 copies in Iceland.
The band members on this album:
Pall Rósinkrans on vocals & backing vocals, Gunnar Bjarni Ragnarsson on guitar, Starri Sigurðarson on bass, Hrafn Thoroddsen on keyboards, Jón Örn Arnarson on drums.
Eyþór Arnalds played cello and his wife Móeiður Júníusdóttir (better known as singer Móa) did some backing vocals.
Eyþór Arnalds of the band Todmobile produced the album together with the band.
Cover photographs were made by Eiður Snorri Eysteinsson (Snorrarnir/Snorri Bros fame).

1. Take me away
2. Lazy old sun (Ray Davies)
3. Rain
4. Stepping stone
5. I’m in a Dream I’m
6. Falling

7. Listen to the wind
8. Chicks in the house
9. Suck my thing
10. Big fat stone
11. Coming in

– Wim Van Hooste