Morgan Kane
  1. Nine
  2. Kill the critic
  3. Love is not dead
  4. I give up
  5. The Dance
  6. Lonely impulse of delight

Survival of the fittest pistolero

Founded in Reykjavik anno 2009, indie rock band Morgan Kane has an atmospheric aureole all around. Vocalist/guitarist Magnús Þór Magnússon, Baldur Sigurgeirsson on lead guitar, drummer boy Stefán Örn Sveinsson and Jakob Veigar Sigurðsson on bass, create clean, contrasting melodies and write moody, melancholic lyrics.

This debut EP “The Way To Survive Anything” features 6 new wave inspired tracks. The raw, dark and distinctive baritone vocal cords of Magnús bring in mind The National, Hudson Wayne and Olympia (the solo project of HAM’s Sigurjón Kjartansson in the 90s) in track I, “Nine”. I hear Mr Smith Johnny Marr in this song as well. No more hang the DJ, but “Kill the critic” in song 2. A cowboy on Prozac without a horse in a saloon in song III, “Love is not dead”. An Ennio Morricone intro of “I give up”, makes this song complete. My personal favourite song is n° 5, “The Dance”. The 6th song is a great apocalyptic apotheosis of this EP.

Morgan Kane succeeds in putting the Norwegian cowboy in the shadow: the survival of the fittest pistolero. No more the law of the jungle!

– Wim Van Hooste