1. Caterpillar
  2. Blood Red
  3. Serenade
  4. When we dance
  5. Speed of dark
  6. Nightfall
  7. Today has been OK
  8. Jungle drum
  9. Thinking out loud
  10. Gun
  11. Bleeder

Emilíana puts on Belgian make-up

Rough Trade released the self-titled live album by The Colorist Orchestra & Emilíana Torrini that features eleven songs. Emilíana Torrini (°1977) needs no introduction, but her collaborators need one. The Colorist Orchestra is a Belgian ensemble founded in 2013 by Aarich Jespers (of Zita Swoon fame) and Kobe Proesmans (of Gabriel Rios). Their goal is to make re-compositions of the repertoire of established musicians.

This live album contains two new songs, “When We Dance” and “Nightfall”, and some songs from the last decade, from “Fisherman’s woman”, over “Me and Armini” to “Tookah”. The collection of mostly orchestral interpretations of Torrini’s catalog, is like a painter’s palette that has been bermished with beautiful Belgian colours à la Hergé and René Magritte. This songs got a subtle but specific make-over with some marvelous make-up: “Caterpillar” (°Tookah, 2013), “Blood Red (°Tookah, 2013), “Serenade” (°Fisherman’s woman, 2005), “Speed of dark” (°Tookah, 2013), “Thinking out loud (Fisherman’s woman, 2005), “Gun” (°Me and Armini, 2008), “Bleeder” (°Me and Armini, 2008). “Today has been okay” (°Fisherman’s woman, 2005) is the only song that goes a bit crazy in the end, and is thus my favourite one. A bit of a surprise but her huge hit, “Jungle drum” (°Me and Armini, 2008), is covered as well. That takes courage…

The Colorist & Emiliana Torrini album is a sort of best of 3 albums. It has not become a mash-up but a gentle hand-in-hand walk in the Belgian wood. It has a live and kicking feel, but misses some powerful punches. It’s OK, but I’m not KO.

– Wim Van Hooste