Straumhvörf cover
  1. Af sem áður var
  2. Flöskuskeyti
  3. Fagurgalinn
  4. Svartir klettar
  5. Langt yfir skammt
  6. Yfir strikið
  7. Blóm í móa
  8. Skýjaborg
  9. Kollhnís
  10. Straumhvörf

Don’t skip (ahoy)!!

Elíza’s fourth solo album is called “Straumhvörf” (Seachange). Elíza Newman Geirsdóttir was the fantastic frontwoman of Keflavík’s Kollektiv Kolrössa Krókríðandi (Músiktilraunir winner back in 1992). She recorded a variety of very postpunky over Eurovision to real opera songs. In 2010 she had her 15 minutes of world fame by making the eruptive Eyjafjallajökull tribute song! She made five records with Kolrössa a.k.a. Bellatrix in the United Kingdom and one album with the band Skandinavia, while she was living and studying overseas. So if you can count, this makes 10 full albums. The album was recorded at Stereohóli í Höfnum at Reykjanes with Gísli Kjaran Kristjánsson (he worked with Roisin Murphy, Duffy, Katie Dennis and William Hut). The previous three albums were the powerful rock album “Empire Fall” (Lavaland Records, 2007), “Pie In The Sky” (Smekkleysa/Lavaland Records, 2009), and “Heimþrá” (Geimsteinn/Lavaland Records, 2012).

Straumhvörf’s kicks off with “Af sem áður var” (What’s been and gone), an uptempo song with a fantastic end. In the second one, “Flöskuskeyti” (Message in a bottle), she not trying to walk in The Police shoes, but her high heels fit wonderfully. “Fagurgalinn” (Heartbreaker) features the vicious & violent violin of Elíza. Song IV, “Svartir klettar” (Black rocks), is as dramatic and dangerous as the south shore of Iceland. The fifth track, “Langt yfir skammt (The short to long road), is happy slappy and clappy. More violins and lived, tormented vocals in “Yfir strikið” (Over the line). Song VII, “Blóm í móa” (Flower on the heath), has a rocking recorder as curiosity. The 8th song, “Skýjaborg” (Castle in the sky; but the title in English is “Glazier” and has different lyrics), is driven by a meandering, melancholic piano. More happy clapping in “Kollhnís” (Cartwheels) in the beginning, but the apotheosis kicks ass as in the Kolrössa days. Those were the days! And finally we get the title track, “Straumhvörf”, wherein she’s taking it laid back again.

Sailor Elíza takes us on board of her vocal vessel to undergo the high and low “Straumhvörf” with ten knots in the sailcloths. You won’t get seasick, but you’ll be sick for more (music). Although I still prefer Elíza with her Dr. Martens rock boots on, her fourth solo album is definitely and furtunately more diverse and rockier than her last two longplayers. Well done and enjoy staring at the seachanges Elíza.

– Wim Van Hooste