Muted album cover
  1. Circles
  2. Days Go By
  3. Us
  4. Bright Eyes
  5. Slow Motion
  6. Special Place feat. Jófríður Ákadóttir
  7. Paranoya
  8. Feels Like Heaven
  9. Outlaw
  10. There She Was
  11. Psycho

The Sound of Muted

“Muted World” is Muted’s debut solo album. Muted is the alias of Bjarni Rafn Kjartansson, a member of the scene. It was recorded and produced in 2011 while living in the capital of the North, Akureyri (inh. 18,000), and in a small town Far East, Egilsstaðir (inh. 2,500).

The longplayer is built around a lot of field recordings put on tape in various places and environments across Iceland. The album’s artwork was designed by Sigurður Helgi Magnússon, the graphic work by Maríanna Magnúsdóttir. Mastering was performed by Raftonar. Muted has made a name in remixing over the years, for example he gave songs by Justice (2010), Samaris (2011) and Asonat (2012) a 2nd life.

The broken beats, downtempo samples and smooth synthesizers create the unique universe of Muted. The tempo of the twelve tracks ranges between 90 and 130 bpm. In song IV “Us” and track IX “Feels like heaven” sampled vocals were added. The track “Special Place” features the vocals of hypnotist annex chanteuse Jófríður Ákadóttir of Samaris and Pascal Pinon fame.

Busy chameleon Bjarni is working on 3 new albums right now: a new solo album, a hip hop album and a jazz album. We’re looking forward to explore the musical diversity of Muted world in camouflage outfit in the near future. “Muted World” is a splendid spot and habitat to start the journey.

– Wim Van Hooste