1. 1ntro
  2. Small Reverb (Extended Version)
  3. John Log
  4. Mystery Guitarist
  5. Kaffi 15
  6. Vatnið
  7. Huxion
  8. Follower
  9. Please never Change
  10. Turn Up
  11. Mini Theme

Lost and found in the wormhole

One could say ‘the best of the rest’. DVD lovers would call it “The Extras”. Anyhow, Worm Is Green offers a look inside the intelligent dance music kitchen of quartet Árni, Bjarni, Steini and Guðríður. The Volume 1 of their “Loops, Cuts & Lost Clues” collection includes 11 tracks, which are ideas, demos and loops created the past 15 years.

Opener “1ntro” is a minimal synthesizer driven intro. The second song, “Small Reverb (Extended Version)”, has a scary, pumping vibe. The long loop, “John Log”, also the alias of Árni, forms the core of song III. “Mystery Guitarist” has a somehow a Sigur Rós feel, it reminds me of the intro of “Viðrar vel til loftárása”, one of my favourite Victory Rose songs of their second album “Ágætis Byrjun” (1999). Track V adds some sugar to the coffee “Kaffi 15”, and yes, I want a refill, please. “Vatnið” (The Water) is the only song that features goddess Guðríður’s vocals, the Venus on the mountain top. She’s got it! “Huxion”, “Follower” and “Please never Change” is a trio of transcedental tracks. And now for something completely different: “Turn Up” and “Mini Theme” are some good old D’n’B inspired tracks.

This album takes you on a hypnotizing triphop trip from cement city Akranes to the Norwegian woods of Voss. “Loops, Cuts and Lost Clues Vol. 1” demonstrates that with leftovers you can cook a delicious dinner in the music kitchen. Don’t loop back in anger, with the cutting crew Worm Is Green.

– Wim Van Hooste