Lay low - Live at home

1. Home
2. Horfið
3. Mojo Love
4. I Forget It’s there
5. Little By Little
6. In the Dead of Winter
7. By and By
8. Why Do I Worry?
9. Í veikindum
10. Please Don’t Hate Me
11. Donna Mo’s Blues
12. Jolene

Live at Home

Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir is an almost 30 years old half-Sri Lankan, half-Icelandic singer-songwriter, born in London. She sings under the name Lay Low and her music is a combination of blues, folk and country. She was a member of the band Benny Crespo’s Gang – keyboards by the way – who released an eponymous album in 2007. These days Lovísa is touring with the new darlings Of Monsters and Men. In the past she supported Emiliana Torrini on tour and signed a record deal with Nettwerk. Very recently she’s back on an Icelandic record label, namely Record Records.  So far she released 4 studio albums, last 2 ones are “Farewell Good Night’s Sleep” (Cod Music, 2008) and “Brostinn Strengur” (Sena, 2011). In 2009 she recorded a live acoustic CD/DVD entitled “Flatey” because it was filmed on a small island with this name, in the middle of the Breiðafjördur Bay.

On the 4th of May 2013 her living room – you can’t live in a living room – was the recording studio for her second life album. The concert for friends and family at Hveragerdi, aka the greenhouses town, was streamed by Inspired by Iceland. It reminds me of Svavar Knútur’s second solo album “Amma (songs for my grandmother)” (2010), and a tribute to Icelandic folk and traditional songs, which was recorded in a living room as well, but in the 101 area of the capital.

Troubadour and chanteuse Lay Low has become a good master of her guitar, each song has great intros and outros. Lovísa  brings a selection of songs from her previous albums, in a pure, raw and good-to-the-bone way. There is even place for a “new” song, although written at young age, “Donna Mo’s Blues”, that goes bad-to-the-bone (“Fucking cheater… “). What you get is like a röntgen recording, her timbre plus an electric but gentle guitar. Nothing less, nothing more. Even an ‘oh so quiet’ audience, until the final Dolly Parton song “Jolene, when the listeners become a choir, that sound like a second voice. A superb ending of a splendid album. Only one remark, maybe 1 or 2 songs too long. Can’t wait to hear her 5th studio album, out this year fortunately. Every good thing comes in 2!