Kontinuum Kyrr
  1. Breathe
  2. Í Huldusal
  3. Hliðargötu Heimsveldi
  4. Kyrr
  5. Undir Þunnu Skinni
  6. Lone
  7. In Shallow Seas
  8. Red Stream

Keep calm and listen to Kontinuum

Kontinuum was formed in 2010 and released their debut album entitled “Earth Blood Magic” in 2012. This first LP was recorded in Sundlaugin, Studio Viti, and Hljóðhamar between 2011 and 2012. The quintet, Engilbert Hauksson (bass), Kristján Gudmundsson (drums), Thorlakur Thor Gudmundsson (guitars), Ingi Þór Pálsson (guitars), and Birgir Thorgeirsson (vocals, guitars), is so/too many times compared with fellow Icelanders Sólstafir (English: Sunrays).

The 2nd album, “Kyrr” (English: Calm), is more rock orientated than numero uno. It is post-rock, post-metal, post-goth and post-wave at the same time. Let’s call it ‘ambient metal’. Opening track “Breathe” has an atmospheric, dreamy aura with gothic, doomy undertones, like most of the other tracks. Song 2 “Í Huldusal” is oscillating between up & down tempo, it reminds me a bit of latest HAM record: “Svik, Harmur, og Dauði” (Smekkleysa, 2011). Song III ,“Hliðargötu Heimsveldi”, takes the stairways to a drums driven climax. The title track “Kyrr” wears an 80s new wave hairdo with a 90s grunge goatee. Song V “Undir Þunnu Skinni” is probably influenced by Faith No More; nothing wrong with that. The sixth song “Lone” is Ennio Morriconesque, simply fantastic. Back from the movies, “In Shallow Seas”, is more melodic metal: I’m not sure if a viking ship enters the fjord with fish on board or a whaling trawler with black meat. “Red Stream” is a guitar driven apotheosis, just marvelous metal.

“Kyrr” is generally understated and downbeat. It is nor particularly novel neither original, but it makes your dreary day. Cover art is breathtakening beautiful and fits the music in a splendid way.