Few more days to go
  1. Now
  2. Northern Gannet
  3. Wire Skulls
  4. Circus Life
  5. Blinking
  6. In The Light of the Night
  7. Ballerina in the Rain
  8. Plastic People
  9. Your Collection
  10. Goodbye

Waiting for droopy Doomsday

In 2010 I wrote:

‘Captain Fufanu are two youngsters and probably the brightest hope of the Icelandic electronic music scene. Hrafnkell Flóki & Guðlaugur Halldór Einarsson, sons of a different Einar, so no brothers, did their first gig at the age of 16 in 2008. The duo Kaktus and Gulli is mixing dub, techno, house and experimental electronica.’

In 2015 there is no captain on the ship any more, so the boyz boarded the postpunk boat drifting towards a cold wave. “Few more days to go” is the debut album on the infamous One Little Indian records label, that has a strong link to the Icelandic indie scene. The father of Hrafnkell Flóki a.k.a. Kaktus, Einar Örn Benediktsson, made some albums on OLI with the band The Sugarcubes. The 2nd album was called “Here today, tomorrow next week” (1989), and Fufanu’s debut album title can be seen as a wink. Or is there ‘no future’ after all?!

Well, back to the future then. The 10-track album kicks off with the song “Now”, provided with a great intro & outro and creating a stunning apocalyptic atmosphere. The sound of the opening track has infected the rest of the album, so you get even more filthy as pus guitars and itching and delirious basses. The vocals by Kaktus remind me now and then of The Fall’s Mark E. Smith, but without gumboils. The album ends with my favourite track “Goodbye” – opener of their live shows – where the distortion & reverb à la My Bloody Valentine and The Jesus and Mary Chain result in a ‘grand finale’.

“Few more days to go” is a very promising, consistent & coherent debut album by Gulli & Kaktus. The overall atmosphere is as dark & droopy as Doomsday and the Day of the Lord together. Fufanu is still one of the brightest hopes of the Icelandic music scene after all these years. Hope there will be a few more records to go…

– Wim Van Hooste