Double rainbow
  1. Axel Flóvent – Forest Fires
  2. Myrra Rós – Eins og þú sérð
  3. GANGLY – Fuck With Someone Else
  4. FURA – Poems of the past
  5. DJ Flugvél og geimskip – Nótt á hafsbotni
  6. Jón Ólafsson & Futuregrapher – Börn
  7. Mikael Lind – Steady Accumulation
  8. My Bubba – Our Water Hours
  9. Svavar Knútur featuring Marketa Irglova – Baby Would You Marry Me
  10. Markús & the diversion sessions – Decent Times
  11. Just another snake cult – Cupid Makes a Fool of Me
  12. Milkywhale – Birds of Paradise
  13. Agent Fresco – Wait For Me
  14. Kira Kira – Call it Mystery

Somewhere over the rainbow

Icelandic music is big in Japan for many years. So numerous musicians were able to give concerts in the land of the rising sun. The Japanese Icelandophile Yuka Ogura compiled her third album with music from Iceland: fourteen tracks made by Icelandic musicians or made in Iceland.

Rainbow 1

Axel Flóvent’s “Forest Fires” is the atmospheric opening track from his “Forest Fires EP” (Trellis Records, 2015). Eins og þú sérð” is a song from singer-songwriter Myrra Rós’ second solo album “One amongst others” (Nordic Notes, 2015), that blows like a wind in the willows. In complete contrast with the first two is the third track, GANGLY’s “Fuck With Someone Else”. GANGLY is the mysterious ‘ménage à trois’ of Sin Fang’s Sindri, Jófríður (Pascal Pinon, Samaris) and Úlfur (Oyama). An Icelandic indie supergroup can’t be bad after all. FURA is a Faroese-Icelandic collaboration between the songstress Björt Sigfinnsdóttir and the producer duo Hallur Jónsson & Janus Rasmussen, both from Bloodgroup. “Poems of the past” was released 2 years ago on Fandango Music. DJ Flugvél og geimskip delivers the title track from her album entitled “Nótt á hafsbotni “(Night at the Bottom of the Ocean), released last year. A love child made by co-workers Jón Ólafsson & Futuregrapher is “Börn”, a song from their album “One” (Möller Records, 2015). The previously unreleased track “Steady Accumulation” by RVK Resident Mikael Lind is a three pianos piece with added ambient extras.

Rainbow 2
Scandinavian duo (Sweden/Iceland) My Bubba’s lullaby from the countryside “Our Water Hours”. Iceland’s Nr 1 Troubadour Svavar Knútur teams up with Chanteuse Marketa Irglova to sing “Baby Would You Marry Me”, a song from the album “Ölduslóð” (Way of waves)(2012). Markús (Skátar) proves us that there is life after being a boy scout: Markús & the diversion sessions delivers a decent track, “Decent Times. Bedroom-producer Þórir Bogason alias Just Another Snake Cult released the clownesque song “Cupid Makes a Fool of Me” in 2014, my personal favourite. “Birds of Paradise” is a song by choreographer Melkorka Sigríður Magnúsdóttir and producer Árni Rúnar Hlöðversson (Árni +1 of FM Belfast, Hairdoctor), now known as the duo Milkywhale. Agent Fresco’s “Wait For Me”, is featured on the album “Destrier”, one of the best Icelandic albums of 2015, according to many critics and music addicts. Last track by Kira Kira is the strange “Call it Mystery” (2014).

“Double Rainbow” is a compilation album made with love with music from the North Atlantic for the Japanese alternative music market, with potential to hit the Yellow Sea, the Japanese See and even the Pacific Ocean as a tsunami in 2016! It is a perfect résumé of the indie contemporary, pop and postpop music made the last couple of years. It can be a sort of Return and Revenge of the Rainbow Warrior.

Well done, Yuka!

– Wim Van Hooste

PS: CD includes 3 times 5 postcards as well.