Casio Fatso
  1. Tokyo in Twins
  2. Satellite
  3. Bernaise
  4. To Jobs
  5. Heartbeat
  6. Last Forever
  7. Of Sein
  8. Controlling the world from my bed
  9. Slip into the night unnoticed
  10. Wheenbear
  11. Dakota
  12. Sebas

So I start a revolution from my bed

The story of Casio Fatso began early 2012 when the singer/guitarist SIR called his long time friend to start a band. The duo set up an audition to find more people to jam with and in the end settled on a magic formula that has been going strong since 2013. singer/guitarist SIR, the drummer Helgi, the bass machine Hjörtur, and guitarist Dolli. Casio Fatso plays energetic ‘Modnine’ rock (read: modern 90s rock) with strong roots in the grunge, college and alternative, artie rock, but with a modern twist. the quartet found its inspiration: The Pixies, Nirvana and Smashing Pumpkins. Or think distorted guitars, contrasting song dynamics with apathic or angst-filled lyrics.

For a while I thought the bad boys of Jakobínarína were back on track. Now and then I hear British rock influences as well. Highlights of the album are the songs “Satellite”, “Sebas”, and the title track.

“Controlling the world from my bed” is a fine, descent, well-produced debut album, especially if you are into grungy guitars with a 90s feel. The singer is on top during the fantastic downtempo parts of the songs.

– Wim Van Hooste