1. Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls
  2. Lila
  3. Hyperbole
  4. Torture
  5. The Eternal Feminine
  6. The Crown of Creation
  7. TKO
  8. Filaphilia (A tribute to Siggi Armann)
  9. To Boris with Love
  10. Liquid Bread & Circuses
  11. Salire
  12. Breakfast in the Himalayas
  13. Wirewalker

Drawing a perfect circ(l)e

Georg Holm and Orri Páll Dýrason, the rhythm session of Sigur Rós, and Iceland’s most famous film composer Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson collaborated to create “Circe”, with some helping hands of Georg’s brother Kjartan on guitar. It’s the instrumental soundtrack to ‘The Show of Shows’, a documentary made by Benedikt Erlingsson on vaudeville, circuses, and carnivals, that will be aired on BBC 4 as part of the Storyville series next year.

The 72-minute instrumental album “Circe” was recorded at Sigur Rós’ new studio in Reykjavik. The South Iceland Chamber Choir is a guest on the album.

Sigur Rós previously worked with Hilmar Örn Hilmarsson (HÖH) in 2002 on the 70-minute orchestral and choral work ‘Odin’s Raven Magic’, not released so far unfortunately (The best concert I’ve been to btw).

Like I wrote in the review of the latest SR album, “Kveikur” (2013), it was time to leave the dead end road. And they did, leaving Jónsi on his own in the alley. Probably Orri and Georg wanted to score a film as well.

What can go wrong with working again with genious HÖH? Absolutely nothing! “Circe” is as magical as Odin’s Raven was. Wonderful soundscapes, beautiful beats and perfect postrock influences. Who needs to buy a zoo or to train a dragon, if you can buy a ticket for the circus to enjoy the clowns and the candyfloss.

– Wim Van Hooste